Skip to content ↓

Tupton Hall School Awarded NCCE Computing Quality Mark

Tupton Hall School is one of the first ten schools to receive the NCCE Computing Quality Mark which recognises excellence in computing education.

The ten primary and secondary schools are the first to achieve benchmark level of the National
Centre for Computing Education’s ground-breaking new tool, the Computing Quality
Framework, which evaluates computing provision and recognises excellence with its
Computing Quality Mark.

Following the CQF’s pilot phase in autumn 2021, over 500 schools across England are now
using the CQF to evaluate their computing education.
Claire Garside, senior lead facilitator at the National Centre for Computing Education (NCCE),

“Congratulations to our first ten ‘Computing Quality Mark’ schools. They’ve led the way
to deliver higher standards in computing education and demonstrate the quality of their

“They’re our ‘first ten’, but we know many more schools have brilliant computing
education. The NCCE teams are working closely with primary and secondary schools
across England to support them to also achieve the Computing Quality Mark.
"The CQF gives schools the strategic oversight to ensure all their students receive the
computing skills and knowledge they will need for their future, and which are
increasingly in demand from employers.”

Vale Academy in Brigg, North Lincolnshire, is one of the first ten to achieve the NCCE
Computing Quality Mark.

Damian Burrin, Faculty Lead for Computer Science at Vale Academy, said;
"The CQF is a great initiative. Other subjects have a subject mark to show they deliver a
high-quality curriculum. I know we deliver a good curriculum that supports our local
needs and enables students to achieve at the highest standard.
"It’s great to have this recognised and we hope it will encourage more students to
complete a computing based qualification. The CQF also gave us the opportunity to
self-evaluate, take stock of what we do and adjust our approaches to ensure they
remain valid and relevant.”

The CQF enables primary and secondary schools to evaluate computing provision, identify
areas for improvement and access NCCE training, resources and support. The free, online
framework enables schools to review, develop, and monitor their computing education.
Schools can access support from the NCCE’s national network of Computing Hubs based at
34 schools across England.

Schools that have reached the benchmark level for all seven aspects of the framework, can
apply for the NCCE Computing Quality Mark, awarded by BCS, the Chartered Institute for IT,
which recognises and celebrates the school’s progress.

The first ten schools to receive a Computing Quality Mark, are:
Anchorsholme Primary Academy, Lancashire; Barton Court Grammar School,
Kent; Carmel College, County Durham; The Chase School, Worcestershire; Garforth
Academy, West Yorkshire; Icknield High School, Bedfordshire; Pate’s Grammar
School, Gloucestershire; Saffron Walden County High School, Essex; Tupton Hall
, Derbyshire; The Vale Academy, Lincolnshire.

The National Centre for Computing Education (NCCE) is funded by the Department for
Education and supporting partners, to improve the provision of computing education in
England. Since the NCCE’s establishment in 2018, it has engaged with 39,000 teachers from
more than 20,000 schools in England, created the Teach Computing Curriculum which has
seen 640,000 lessons downloaded, and has now added the CQF to its provision.

To find out more about the CQF, visit or contact your local
NCCE Computing Hub.